Speaking of Myrtle Beach

Hotel Tales

in ninth grade, my best friend went with us to litchfield.the most delicious seafood  at myrtle beach comes from murrell’s inlet, so every night, you stood in line forever.one night at drunken jacks, we waited in line and the hosteess called smith party of six. this man said party of five, one of us died waiting in line.that was the funniest joke, i had ever heard in my life. i could not stop laughing, to eat dinner.it was so true , you could spend your life waiting in line for dinner.you should get in line, before you are hungry.

the next day we were on the beach and this tiny lady bent over and covered her eyes and saluted and yelled down the beach  is that you errin spelling. it was my 9th grade english teacher, from greenville,s.c five years later, one day my fiance and i were fishing at this lake in spartanburg, and this woman came home and said she was the owner of the house and  we knew each other .she was my german,german teacher from greenville  and she hugged me. well she never hugged me at school. in fact she asked me why my people couldn’t keep new york clean.i had never even been to new york.

two years later, in a gift shop in kingstree s.c., my mother in law and i were shopping, when this woman came in and i heard her speaking to the sales person.it was driving me crazy, that i knew her voice and i could remember her calling my name and i could not figure out who she was, all day. my mother in law called people and found out her name and only then did i realize she was my 12th grade english teacher.it was strange seeing all 3 in different towns .

One thought on “Speaking of Myrtle Beach

  1. It’s true that most of the times people meet with their former teachers in the most unexpected places. For instance there was this one time I bumped into my 10th grade math teacher at a fashion event – which was pretty awkward. Well, the problem with these encounters is that you never know where or when they will happen, but I always hope that they don’t turn out to be embarrassing.

Leave a Reply

